Getting the most out of a wood-burning stove.

General Forum

Moderators: Soner, Dragon, PoshinDevon

Navek
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

•   Message 1 of 17 in Discussion

Post by Navek »

By Andrew McGowan
31 October 2017
Info Only
Wood Burner.JPG
Andrew McGowan has 15 years of wood-burning experience and experimentation
with Morso and Stovax stoves.
As our guest blogger this week,
Andrew shares with us his tips on efficient wood burning techniques in the home.

More...
http://www.yougen.co.uk/blog-entry/3015 ... +stove-%7C+/

waddo
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

Re: Getting the most out of a wood-burning stove.

•   Message 2 of 17 in Discussion

Post by waddo »

After a few failures and a lot of non belief in the process, I have been using this (or slightly modified version) for the past 6 years and am amazed at the ease at which the fire will light. It seems that the "Real" trick is about how fast you can get the chimney hot! A hot chimney reduces smoke, gives a better draw and makes life a lot easier. Give it a try for yourselves, it works!

https://mffire.com/wood-stove-101-perfe ... -fire-top/
No matter how hard the past, you can always begin again.

IPMAN
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

•   Message 3 of 17 in Discussion

Post by IPMAN »

waddo wrote:After a few failures and a lot of non belief in the process, I have been using this (or slightly modified version) for the past 6 years and am amazed at the ease at which the fire will light. It seems that the "Real" trick is about how fast you can get the chimney hot! A hot chimney reduces smoke, gives a better draw and makes life a lot easier. Give it a try for yourselves, it works!

Well I never! Been lighting fires wrong allthis time! Will try this later!

paul90
Kibkommer
Kibkommer

•   Message 4 of 17 in Discussion

Post by paul90 »